THE SAMARITAN BAPTIST CHURCH

mmannamannanannan

homannampanon



SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 1947 At Eleven O'clock Institute, West Virginia

Charles Walker Thomas, Minister Charles Byrd, Superintendent of Church School

MINISTER

Charles Walker Thomas

BOARD OF DEACONS

Solomon Brown, Senor Deacon

Roscoe Howard George Hurt Charles Napper W. A. Brown Charles Byrd Orlando Brown

Church Clerk: Mrs. Austin W. Curtis, Sr. Pianist: Miss. Dolly Hill Choral Directors: Robert Elmore, James R. Toler President of Choir: Orlando Brown Secretary of Choir: Norman Pepper

The Minister and Officers of the Samaritan Baptist Church wish to thank all those members and friends of the church who contributed to our Hymnal Fund. Special thanks are due Mrs. Charolotte McFall Lacy, our authorized solicitor ,and Deacon Charles Byrd, Superintendent of the Sunday School, for their ceaseles efforts in making the drive a capital success.

CHOIR ROSTER

Susie Allen Helen Brazelton Darius Brown Orlando Brown Beatrice Clark Elizabeth Coles Robert Elmore Elizabeth Hawkins Sadie Ann Hector Jamie Henderson Dolly Hill Myrtle Holmes Arizona Houchins Ruth Houchins Ruth Jordan Edith Kelly Roscoe Leonard

Marion Minnefield Ruby Jean Nash Robert Pannell Nannie Parks Norman Pepper Tillie Mae Robinson Trov Robinson Raymond Rucker William Shelton Helen Shepherd Samuel L. Simon Petrina Stanbrough James Toler Joseph Tyree Geraldine Wallace Ernestine Williams Wayman Rucker

The programs for this service were made possible through the courtesy of the Department of Printing, West Virginia State College, under the direction of Messers. T. C. Gregory and E. E. Edwards.

ORDER OF SERVICE

Morning Worship and Installation of Deacons

| Instrumental Prelude The Choral Invitatory |
|---|
| The Call to Worship |
| The Processional Hymn"All Hail the Power"No. 8 |
| Invocation Deacon Napper |
| The Lord's Prayer (Chanted) |
| Spiritual—"O My Good Lord" (Arranged)Choir |
| Soloist: Mr. Troy Robinson |
| Responsive Reading—"The Great Commission" No. 537 |
| Gloria Patria—(Congregation please remain standing) Inside cover of Hymnal |
| Announcements and Recognition of Visitors |
| Special Statement on Hymnal Fund Collections |
| Mrs. C. M. Lacy |
| Violin Solo |
| Mr. Robert Green |
| Scripture Lesson—Acts 6:1-15 Mr. Joseph Tyree |
| Gloria Patria |
| Hymn—"Break Thou the Bread of Life" No. 129 |
| Leader: Miss. Marion Minnefield |
| Sermon—"Wherefore a Lesser Ministry?" Mr. Thomas |
| Vocal Solo—"The Lord is My Light" Buck Miss. F. Howard |
| |
| The Invitation |
| The Call |
| Hymn—"Jesus Calls Us" No. 302 |
| The Offertory Service Offertory Sentence |
| Spiritual—"Every Time I Feel the Spirit" (Arranged) |
| Choir—Solo part: Mr. Robert Elmore |
| Reception and Blessing of the Offering: |
| "All Things Come of Thee, O Lord," etc. |
| An Inings Come of Thee, O Lord, etc. |
| |

INSTALLATION OF DEACONS

| Deacons Elect: Char | les Byrd, Orlando Brown |
|--------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Introductory Statement | |
| Pledge | |
| Reception | |
| Prayer of Installation | |
| Blessing | |
| Right Hand of Fellowship | Minister and Deacons |
| Hymn " | God Be With You" (Arranged) |
| Benediction | |

